City election candidates are coming forward


The deadline for candidates to file for Marshalltown’s fall election is fast approaching.

The city will hold an election for Mayor as well as four city councilors: First Ward, Third Ward and two at-large members.

So far, four people have officially filed for candidacy and nomination petitions in hopes of serving on the Marshalltown City Council.


They are:

• Mike Ladehoff: First Ward

• Dex Walker: Third Ward

• Jeff Schneider: At Large

• Barry Kell: At Large

Ladehoff is a current councilor representing the First Ward and is seeking re-election. He earned his position through a special election earlier this year after Sue Cahill vacated her position to serve in the Iowa House of Representatives. The Third Ward council seat is held by Mike Gowdy.

The deadline for interested residents to file for candidacy is Thursday at 5 p.m. The forms to file can be found online at

Potential candidates may also request the paperwork from City Clerk Alicia Hunter at City Hall, 24 N. Center St. or Marshall County Auditor Nan Benson’s office on the second floor of Great Western Bank, 11 N. First Ave.

Candidates require a petition with a minimum of 25 signatures from residents living within the ward they are running for, or within city limits if they are running for mayor or an at large position.

The election will be held Nov. 2, with polls open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Absentee ballots can be requested until Oct. 18. The deadline for in-person absentee voting is Nov. 1 at 5 p.m.

Contact Joe Fisher at